What an air purifier taught me about Unlearn


Hello hello

It’s been long since I wrote this. (The World Cup final drained me emotionally to write anything)
Tell me - how have you been? What’s new and how was your New Year?

I’ll go first.
My New Year's was pretty chill (read boring).
Decided to be at home with the family and watch the awards, just like the good ol’ days.
While we were watching the award - my Father spotted the new Air Purifier at our home.
It took him 3 weeks to notice it, haha. đź‘€

He asked me, “Ye kab liya?”
“Demo Day ke liye khareeda tha” I replied.

“Air purifier for Demo day??” He said confusingly.
I said, “Ha, ek member ko pollution se issue hota hai toh unke room ke liye humne liya tha, tab se gharpe rakha hai”

He paused for a moment.
Then said, “Yaar, agar tumlog itna zyada soch rahe ho toh waah”

Then it hit me.
That Air Purifier has taught me more on how to run Unlearn than anybody else.
And I’ve spoken to easily over 20 folks who I personally look up to seeking advice on how to run my company.

All of them had generic advice.
“Hire the best and let them run it”
“Take feedback and act on it”
“Figure out the working style of different people”
“TaLk tO UsErs”

To put it bluntly - it’s all pretty bullshit advice.

That air purifier taught me to prioritize the feeling people carry with them long after they have left Unlearn.
The feeling of someone caring for them.
Caring deeply.

And, that’s why that is the #1 priority I’ve set for Unlearn in 2024.
To care. And to care, deeply.

Btw, this is that Air Purifier.